Klima Film Festival finalists showcase climate narratives from the youth’s perspective

Dr. Laura David awarded first Climate Frontiers Fellow for Climate Resilience
Dr. Laura David awarded first Climate Frontiers Fellow for Climate Resilience
December 11, 2020
Finalists in the first Climate Resilience Challenge tap green infrastructure, disaster risk financing, in building resilience
December 21, 2020
Show all

Klima Film Festival finalists showcase climate narratives from the youth’s perspective

Klima Film Festival Finalists

The OML Center and Climate Change Commission (CCC) awarded Our World, an animated film by Jerome Pineda, Kit Aguilar, Jackie Galario, and Dom Bitang (Aquarian Eye Media) as the top film of the first Klima Film Festival (KFF). The awarding ceremony took place on November 25 during the Global Warming and Climate Change Consciousness Week.

Launched by the OML Center and the CCC last June, the KFF is a competition aiming to mainstream the effects of climate change through compelling storytelling and cinematic techniques. 

As Best Film, the Our World production team won a cash prize of PHP 50,000. Our World is a story about Nympha the nymph and her elemental dragons who suddenly face invaders that defile the lands, waters, and skies. The film also won Best Screenplay, Best Musical Scoring (tied with two other films), Best in Research and Content, and Most Liked Teaser.

Verdant, directed by Mikone Joshua Calungsod (Ang Maharlika Productions), bagged 1st Runner-up with a cash prize of PHP 30,000, while Resilience, helmed by Lance Lascano and Kris Angel Ditan (South Frame Visuals) was named as 2nd Runner-up, winning a cash prize of PHP 20,000.

Winners also received trophies sponsored by the Support CCC II Project implemented jointly by the CCC and the GIZ on behalf of the German Federal Government. Major and special award winners receive an additional PHP 3,000 each and the seven (7) other finalists will receive PHP 5,000 each. 

All 10 finalists were screened to the public from November 19 to 24 in partnership with iWant TFC. All ten films are currently available for streaming via the iWant TFC platform. Go to the iWant TFC website or download the app on your mobile phones to watch the short films.

Final Review and Judging

From an initial registration of 54 films in July, 39 teams completed the Kaalamang Klima: Climate Change webinar workshop in August. From there, 21 teams completed the Climate Film Labs, but only 17 films made it to final submission.

The 17 films underwent technicality and eligibility review. The finalists were then shortlisted by the OML Center and the CCC with support from the Movie and Television Review and Classification (MTRCB) Board led by Chairperson Rachel Arenas.

The panel of final judges that reviewed the 10 short films for cinematic attributes and technical execution, story and content, and impact were composed of: 

  • House Deputy Speaker Loren Legarda;
  • OML Center Executive Director Dr. Rodel Lasco;
  • CCC Commissioner Rachel Herrera served as KFF judges;
  • National Artist for Film and Father of Independent Cinema Kidlat Tahimik;
  • Lavrente Indico “Lav” Diaz, one of the key members of the slow cinema movement; and 
  • Internationally acclaimed independent filmmaker Brillante Mendoza.

Philippine Commission on Women (PCW) Chairperson Sandra Montano also assisted in selecting the film with the most gender-responsive content.

List of finalists and awards

Our World

Jerome Pineda, Kit Aguilar, Jackie Galario, Dom Bitang

Region III (Central Luzon)

Best Film, Best Musical Scoring, Best Screenplay, Most Liked Teaser, Best in Research and Content Award


Mikone Joshua Calungsod, Leila Galvez, Darwin Palermo

Region VIII (Eastern Visayas)

1st Runner-Up, Best Musical Scoring, Best Production Design, Best Cinematography, Best Director (Mikone Joshua Calungsod)


Kris Angel Ditan, Lance Lascano, Louise Carlo Ledonio, Joshua Oledan, Michaela Bueno, Michael Christopher Villan, Maelanie Ann Requierme, Kenji Yoshida, Jairus Bredes

National Capital Region (NCR)

2nd Runner-Up

Jeremiah at ang Bayan ng Gomorrah

Bradley Jason Pantajo, Jan Arthur Miro Embog, Jan Roland Figura, Jan Ronald Figura, Lito Elabra, Abegail Esquierda, Alliah Jhoy Ignacio, Sybannah Mauhay, Sophia Marie Malasan, Regin De Guzman, Marc Christian Lacson


Finalist, Best Musical Scoring, Best Production Design, Best Performance (Jan Arthur Miro Embog), Audience Choice Award


Clarice Cua, Joaquin Clio Gonzales, Juliana Chloe Gonzales, Samantha Rose Ricasata, Cameron Ericka Ann Tan

National Capital Region (NCR)

Finalist, Gender-Responsive Award

Grow My Mind

Mark Daniel De Castro, John Carlos Ven Castro, Jazel Lazaro, Norina Buenaventura, Nolz Sanders Dela Cruz, Luigi Libunao

Region III (Central Luzon)



Vince Aaron Bercasio, Aaron Buhawe, Geremy Simon Gonzales, Keanu Christopher Abirol, Evander Jethro Carpena, Sergio Manalastas

National Capital Region (NCR)



Flyn Mendoza, Ernesto Segundo, Paullyn Pacio, Mel Codli, Franz Mikel Estera, Shane Desmond Abadey

Cordillera Administrative Region (CAR)


Si Hiraya at ang Diwa

Mae Malelang, Erika Malelang, Erica Chloe Manalac, Filoteo Mari Santos




Mark Andrew Lim, Cedric Salvador, Jose Miguel Benedicto, Jeremy Payumo, Adrian Galera, Maril Jane Paez, Charyjoy Salazar

National Capital Region



Niño Piolo Roto, Niño Paolo Roto, Alliah Alberto, Hannah Grace Yuson, Maynard Yuson, Arianne Beatriz Soria, Michael Rey Tizon, Cathlyn Mae Burias, Michael Dan Palacio, Franchesca Terese Matiga,

Region VIII (Eastern Visayas)

Special Award for Most Liked Teaser

From knowledge-to-action

The Climate Film Labs which ran from September 28 to October 9 provided mentoring sessions with science and film experts to ensure science-based storytelling. Film lab groupings and mentors are: 

  • Lab #1 covers Regions 1, 2 and CAR. Science mentor is Ms. Clarice Colting-Pulumbarit and film mentor is Mr. Zig Dulay
  • Lab #2 covers Region 3, CALABARZON and MIMAROPA, and has Dr. Pedris Orencio as science mentor and Mr. Eduardo Roy, Jr. as film mentor. 
  • Lab #3 includes all NCR participants. Science mentor is Ms. Thelma Cinco and film mentor is Mr. Pepe Diokno
  • Lab #4 includes Region 8 provinces. Science mentor is Dr. Enrique Oracion and film mentor is Mr. Lawrence Fajardo
  • Lab #5 covers Regions 9, 10 and BARMM. Science mentor is Dr. Mark Anthony Torres and film mentor is Mr. Antonio Hesumaria Sescon.

The KFF is part of the OML Center’s Balangay Project which aims to chronicle the stories of climate change in the context of the Filipino experience. In 2019, the Center co-produced Mga Kwento ng Klima with ABS-CBN DocuCentral to chronicle climate change and the Filipino experience.  Mga Kwento ng Klima is also available to view on iWant TFC.